Grand Prix D’horlogerie De Genève Prize 2019 – Winners

Watchmaking excellence was honoured this Thursday November 7th in Geneva at the 19th Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG) prize-giving ceremony, brilliantly hosted by actor Edouard Baer.

The GPHG’s independent jury awarded 19 prizes and attributed the “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix to Audemars Piguet for the Royal Oak Selfwinding Perpetual Calendar Ultra-Thin watch. The Bvlgari, Chanel, Chronométrie Ferdinand Berthoud, Genus, Hermès, Kudoke, MB&F, Ming, Seiko, Tudor, Urwerk, Vacheron Constantin and Voutilainen brands were also rewarded for their expertise and creativity.

François-Henry Bennahmias (CEO of Audemars Piguet), Luc Pettavino (Founder and Organiser of Only Watch), Nicolas Beau (Global Head of Watches and Fine Jewelry Business Development at Chanel), Maximilian Büsser (Owner & Creative Director of MB&F), Kari Voutilainen (Owner and watchmaker), Karl-Friedrich Scheufele (President of Chronométrie Ferdinand Berthoud), Laurent Dordet (CEO of Hermès Horloger), Sébastien Billières et Catherine Henry (Co-founders of Genus), Jean-Christophe Babin (CEO of Bulgari), Akio Naito (Director and Senior Executive Vice President of Seiko Watch Corporation), Stefan Kudoke (Owner and watchmaker), Eric Pirson (Tudor Watches CEO), Thein Ming (Owner and watchmaker), Martin Frei et Felix Baumgartner (Co-founders of Urwerk), Louis Ferla (CEO of Vacheron Constantin)

The Special Jury Prize, which honours an influential actor in the watchmaking world, was bestowed on Luc Pettavino, Founder and Organiser of Only Watch.

On the eve of its 20th anniversary, the GPHG is announcing the upcoming creation of an academy of the profession. This major initiative, reflecting its unifying mission and supported by the City and Canton of Geneva, will constitute a vast network of ambassadors who will take part in the various stages of watch selection and contribute to the worldwide promotion of the watchmaking art. The academy will be operational in spring 2020.


1. “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix: Audemars Piguet, Royal Oak Selfwinding Perpetual Calendar Ultra-Thin

2. Ladies’ Watch Prize: Chanel, J12 Calibre 12.1

3. Ladies’ Complication Watch Prize: MB&F, Legacy Machine FlyingT

4. Men’s Watch Prize: Voutilainen, 28ti

5. Men’s Complication Watch Prize: Audemars Piguet, Code 11.59 by Audemars Piguet Minute Repeater Supersonnerie

6. Iconic Watch Prize: Audemars Piguet, Royal Oak “Jumbo” Extra-thin

7. Chronometry Watch Prize: Chronométrie Ferdinand Berthoud, Carburised steel regulator

8. Calendar and Astronomy Watch Prize: Hermès, Arceau L’heure de la lune

9. Mechanical Exception Watch Prize: Genus, GNS1.2

10. Chronograph Watch Prize: Bvlgari, Octo Finissimo Chronograph GMT Automatic

11. Diver’s Watch Prize: Seiko, Prospex LX line diver’s

12. Jewellery Watch Prize: Bvlgari, Serpenti Misteriosi Romani

13. Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Voutilainen, Starry Night Vine

14. “Petite Aiguille” Prize: Kudoke, Kudoke 2

15. Challenge Watch Prize: Tudor, Black Bay P01

16. Innovation Prize: Vacheron Constantin, Traditionnelle Twin Beat perpetual calendar

17. Audacity Prize: Urwerk, AMC

18. “Horological Revelation” Prize: Ming, 17.06 Copper

19. Special Jury Prize: Luc Pettavino, Founder and Organiser of Only Watch

[List of pre-selected and participant watches]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.